The Byzantine Museum of Veria is housed in the water-powered flour mill of Stergios Markos, an industrial building dated at the beginning of the 20th century. Since the year 2002, in which the first section of the permanent exhibition was opened for the public, it has been systematically presenting the rich cultural material evidence of Veria from the Byzantine, post-Byzantine and Ottoman years through its permanent museological program as well as its periodic exhibitions.
In the water mill of Markos, the history, life and art of Veria unfolds from the time of Constantine the Great to the liberation of the city from the Ottomans in 1912, with the museum building being the chronologically last exhibit of this long journey.
Key milestones in the history of the building are the period in which it was built between the years 1908-1911, the years of operation of the mill from 1911 to the 1960s, the period of abandonment from the 1960s to August 1981, when it was completely destroyed by fire, the restoration – reuse phase in the mid-90s, and finally the winning of the Europa Nostra award for its successful restoration and its rendering to the public as a museum in 2002.
On the three floors of the museum with a total area of 720 sq.m. the three conceptually independent sections of the permanent exhibition entitled: a) Veria, a region of the Byzantine Empire, b) The public and private life of Veria and c) Worship, are presented respectively.
The material of the permanent exhibition includes part of the museum's rich collection of icons, wall paintings from churches and secular buildings, mosaic floors, manuscripts and early-printed books, works of pottery and minor art, coins and wood carvings, burial finds, architectural sculptures and marble inscriptions.